Subcommittee on Employee Relations Thursday, August 30, 2012 Room 15 State Capitol

Minutes

Present

Senator Parry, Chair Representative Drazkowski, Vice Chair Senator Benson Representative Benson Senator Daley Representative Downey Senator Eaton Representative Lillie Senator Metzen Representative Winkler

Senator Parry called the meeting of the Subcommittee on Employee Relations to order at 8:35 am in Room 15 of the State Capitol. A quorum was present.

Representative Downey moved approval of the minutes of the August 9, 2012 meeting. Motion approved.

James Schowalter, Commissioner of Management and Budget, presented an overview of the Minnesota State Government Workforce Report 2011 and the Full Time Equivalents Report.

Barbara Holmes, Assistant Commissioner for Labor Relations for Minnesota Management and Budget, presented an overview of the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, Council 5 collective bargaining agreement.

Carolyn Trevis, Assistant State Negotiator for Minnesota Management and Budget, presented an overview of the Minnesota Association of Professional Employees collective bargaining agreement.

Representative Winkler moved SER-1, the resolution approving the collective bargaining agreements with the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, Council 5 and the Minnesota Association of Professional Employees.

A roll call vote was taken. There being 4 ayes and 6 nays, the motion did not prevail.

Voting Aye: Senator Eaton, Senator Metzen, Representative Lillie, Representative Winkler

Voting Nay: Senator Parry, Senator Benson, Senator Daley, Representative Benson, Representative Downey, Representative Drazkowski

Representative Drazkowski moved SER-5, the resolution disapproving the collective bargaining agreements with the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, Council 5 and the Minnesota Association of Professional Employees.

A roll call vote was taken. There being 6 ayes and 4 nays, the motion prevailed.

Voting Aye: Senator Parry, Senator Benson, Senator Daley, Representative Benson, Representative Downey, Representative Drazkowski

Voting Nay: Senator Eaton, Senator Metzen, Representative Lillie, Representative Winkler

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 9:41 am.