Subcommittee on Employee Relations Monday, March 11, 2013 Room 400 South, State Office Building

Minutes

Members Present:
Representative Lillie, Chair
Senator Metzen, Vice Chair
Representative Drazkowski
Representative Hilstrom
Representative Peppin
Representative Winkler
Senator Benson
Senator Chamberlain
Senator Eaton
Senator Saxhaug

Representative Lillie called the meeting of the Subcommittee on Employee Relations to order at 4:00 pm in Room 400 South of the State Office Building.

A quorum was present.

Senator Eaton moved approval of the minutes from the January 28, 2013 meeting. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Barbara Holmes, Assistant Commissioner for Labor Relations for Minnesota Management and Budget, presented an overview of the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, Unit 225 collective bargaining agreement and the Minnesota Nurses Association collective bargaining agreement.

Assistant Commissioner Holmes stood for questions.

Jim Yates, Minnesota Department of Human Services, addressed questions related to the Minnesota Nurses Association collective bargaining agreement.

Senator Eaton moved approval of SER-1, the resolution approving collective bargaining agreements with the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, Unit 225, the Inter Faculty Organization and the Minnesota Nurses Association, with the amendment the agreements were submitted to the Subcommittee on March 11, 2013.

Chris Dale, Senior System Director for Employee Relations for MnSCU, presented an overview of the Inter Faculty Organization collective bargaining agreement.

Mr. Dale stood for questions.

Russ Stanton, Inter Faculty Organization, addressed questions related to the Inter Faculty Organization collective bargaining agreement.

Senator Eaton renewed her motion to approve the SER-1 resolution, as amended.

Representative Drazkowski requested a roll call vote. There being 6 ayes and 4 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Voting Aye: Representative Lillie, Representative Hilstrom, Representative Winkler, Senator Eaton, Senator Metzen, Senator Saxhaug

Voting Nay: Representative Drazkowski, Representative Peppin, Senator Benson, Senator Chamberlain

Representative Winkler moved approval of SER-2, the resolution approving the Office of Higher Education Unclassified Personnel compensation plan, with the amendment the plan was submitted to the Subcommittee on March 11, 2013.

Diane O'Connor, Associate Director of the Office of Higher Education, and Lynne Richard, Human Resources for the Office of Higher Education, presented the Higher Education Office compensation plan.

Representative Winkler renewed his motion to approve the SER-2 resolution, as amended.

Representative Drazkowski requested a roll call vote. There being 6 ayes and 4 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Voting Aye: Representative Lillie, Representative Hilstrom, Representative Winkler, Senator Eaton, Senator Metzen, Senator Saxhaug

Voting Nay: Representative Drazkowski, Representative Peppin, Senator Benson, Senator Chamberlain,

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:10 pm.