

Subcommittee on Employee Relations

Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, January 18, 2022 Remote via Zoom 10:00 AM

Members Present

Representative Leon Lillie, Chair Representative Tony Albright Representative Andrew Carlson Representative Marion O'Neill Representative Cheryl Youakim Senator Mark Koran, Vice Chair Senator Michelle Benson Senator Karla Bigham Senator Jason Isaacson

Members Excused

Senator Scott Newman

Representative Lillie called the remote meeting of the Subcommittee on Employee Relations to order at 10:00 AM

A quorum was present.

Representative Albright moved approval of the minutes from the October 1, 2021 meeting. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Carlson moved approval of SER-1, the resolution approving the FY 2022-2023 collective bargaining agreements with the Inter Faculty Organization, the Minnesota State University Administrative and Service Faculty, the Middle Management Association, the State Residential Schools Education Association and the Minnesota Nurses Association and the FY 2022-2023 Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Personnel Plan for Administrators.

Eric Davis, Vice Chancellor for Human Resources, Minnesota State, and Chris Dale, Senior System Director for Labor Relations, Minnesota State, presented an overview of the 2022-2023 Inter Faculty Organization contract agreement, the 2022-2023 Minnesota State University Administrative and Service Faculty contract agreement, and the 2022-2023 Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Personnel Plan for Administrators.

Jim Schowalter, Commissioner, MMB, and Kristin Batson, Deputy Commissioner, MMB, presented an overview of the 2022-2023 State Residential Schools Education Association contract agreement and the 2022-2023 Minnesota Nurses Association contract agreement.

The following people address Subcommittee member questions:

- Dori Leland, Enterprise Director, Compensation and Classification, MMB
- Lorna Smith, Enterprise Director, Employee Insurance, MMB

Rep. Carlson renewed his motion to approve SER-1, the resolution approving the FY 2022-2023 collective bargaining agreements with the Inter Faculty Organization, the Minnesota State University Administrative and Service Faculty, the Middle Management Association, the State Residential Schools Education Association and the Minnesota Nurses Association and the FY 2022-2023 Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Personnel Plan for Administrators.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were are follows:

Ayes: Rep. Lillie, Rep. Albright, Rep. Carlson, Rep. O'Neill, Rep. Youakim, Sen. Benson, Sen. Bigham, Sen. Isaacson, Sen. Koran

There being 9 ayes, 0 nays and 1 absent. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Senator Isaacson moved SER-2, the resolution approving the Memorandums of Understanding entered into between the exclusive representatives of various bargaining units and the Commissioner of Management and Budget that were submitted to the Subcommittee on December 20, 2021, January 13, 2022, and January 14, 2022.

Kristin Batson, Deputy Commissioner, MMB, presented an overview of the Memorandums of Understanding submitted by MMB.

Senator Isaacson renewed his motion to approve SER-2, the resolution approving the Memorandums of Understanding entered into between the exclusive representatives of various bargaining units and the Commissioner of Management and Budget that were submitted to the Subcommittee on December 20, 2021, January 13, 2022, and January 14, 2022.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were are follows:

Ayes: Rep. Lillie, Rep. Albright, Rep. Carlson, Rep. O'Neill, Rep. Youakim, Sen. Benson, Sen. Bigham, Sen. Isaacson, Sen. Koran

There being 9 ayes, 0 nays and 1 absent. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:18 AM.